Playing With Your Food at Home

Has anyone made a tagine before? It is an ancient cooking vessel usually made out of clay that sits directly on a burner or a fire. I was schooled in this process by a dear person that I used to work with at Wofgang Puck’s restaurant in Orlando. He is Moroccan and always made the most wonderful and comforting meals for me when I worked there.
Tagine cooking is easy but can be a little time consuming as there are a few steps to it. I made a chicken, raisin, apricot dish for my family on Sunday. It was topped with toasted almonds and cilantro.  It was so good that they were serenading me when they were done. I have never had that experience before!  There was not a drop of food left and I had a pleasant smile on my face knowing that I
made everyone so very happy.

Here is what my finished product looked like:

Playing at home with different cooking techniques and utensils can be a whole new learning experience!  I know I will do this again!

For more info on Tagines :

http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/Dictionary/T/Tagine-6382.aspx

Happy Cooking! Chef Elsie

Leave a comment